PDA

View Full Version : VISTA 64-Bit



[AK]Hylander
07-12-2008, 07:17 AM
I have a removable hard drive tray system in my PC so I loaded up VISTA 64-bit on a new drive to take it for a test spin. I currently have my main system as XP Pro - but I wanted to take VISTA for a spin so I picked it up yesterday.

I was wondering if anyone running the 64-bit version have any suggestions, tips, or pitfalls to avoid? (I don't need any c:/format jokes here - thanks. <G>)

So far, I'm pretty impressed and like it more than I thought I would - granted I have about 3 hours of 'playing' time on it so far.

What I've done so far is the install, transferred over my Adobe Lightroom catalogs, presets, etc and it all works perfectly. In fact, with V64 recognizing my full 4GB - everything is very snappy. Much more so than I anticipated in terms of using aero.

I've only encountered 3
1) Logitech QuickCam - I have a really old one I got free a few years back from Staples. To be honest - I don't think I ever used it, but is attached to my PC for some reason. No loss.

2) I'm losing my "Throbbing Knob". That's right - my Griffin PowerMate doesn't have drivers for it to work under VISTA-64. I basically only use it for volume control on my PC anyways but not a huge issue since I have a "puck" that comes with my speakers and I also have volume control on my headsets. Not a biggie either.

3) Palm Desktop - Won't synch under VISTA 64. But face it - it's Palm Desktop. Can't blame MS for that.

Other than that... no issues at all with 8800GTS 512MB (Haven't installed iRacing - or any game for that matter yet), X-Fi XtremeGamer seems to be working OK, etc. The HP "Director" software that came with my ScanJet scanner isn't compatible - but the drivers themselves are available for Vista64. Not a huge issue because I basically use the scanner with Photoshop, Acrobat, and most often with Quicken to scan in receipts, etc. I haven't installed Quicken yet either so I'll have to test that out later.

Just curious if those who run Vista-64 daily as their primary PC have any tips and/or tricks to offer.

Thanks,
Scott

[AK]Abaddon
07-12-2008, 01:56 PM
I've had about the same experience as you, Hy. I've been running Vista 64 for a couple of months now with no issues.

[AK]Hylander
07-12-2008, 02:22 PM
So far so good actually. I had an 'issue' with some burned DVDs that it would not read. But luckily I had the ISO and when I re-burned from within VISTA64, I had no problems after that. Could have something to do with buring from with Nero in XP Pro though. I haven't tried NERO on VISTA yet.

[AK]Abaddon
07-12-2008, 02:32 PM
I've had no games with issues even -- playing a lot of Eve Online, some TF2, Half Life games and Bioshock.

[AK]Hylander
07-12-2008, 05:51 PM
I'm impressed - I'm getting better performance in iRacing (Which really beats on a PC) in VISTA64 than I do in XP Pro. I'm maxed out with AF/AA (16x/4x) and have most of the eye candy pegged.

So far no issues with Steam (Installed HL2, all sequels, Portal, Prey, etc) and also no issue with my Adobe Master Suite or anything else except the minor issues mentioned prior with "older" items.

[AK]Choozoo
07-12-2008, 09:09 PM
same experience as you both. At 4GB, I don't have one complaint.

hy, what version of vista did you pick up? I have a tuner card in my laptop, and the windows media center embedded within vista is a huge plus in my opinion.

[AK]Hylander
07-13-2008, 05:56 AM
Choozoo;83475']same experience as you both. At 4GB, I don't have one complaint.

hy, what version of vista did you pick up? I have a tuner card in my laptop, and the windows media center embedded within vista is a huge plus in my opinion.

Chooz - I paid for VISTA ULTIMATE UPGRADE, but when I got home I noticed the Einstein at Best Buy gave me the full VISTA ULTIMATE package.

[AK]The Beast
07-13-2008, 06:35 AM
The only difference between Vista Ultimate and Ultimate Upgrade is the price. Your Vista DVD actually contains all versions of the product--it's the product key that determines which one actually gets installed. (At least that's how it works with the Business/Enterprise versions.)

[AK]Hylander
07-13-2008, 09:43 AM
The Beast;83482']The only difference between Vista Ultimate and Ultimate Upgrade is the price. Your Vista DVD actually contains all versions of the product--it's the product key that determines which one actually gets installed. (At least that's how it works with the Business/Enterprise versions.)

Yeah - Ultimate contains both the 32 and 64 bit versions regardless of upgrade/complete as well.

The only thing that tipped me off was the $319.99 price tag on the front of the container. ;)