Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Router woes

  1. #1
    August Knights [AK]Swae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,526

    Router woes

    So I have this odd problem.

    Kidd and I have a new router which sits on my desk. Ever since we got the new router, I've started having a problem - if Kidd's computer is turned off, I can't get on the internet. I will try to get online, and the red "modem" indicator on the router will start blinking. If I refresh my IP, I will stay connected for about 5 minutes before it craps out and the whole process repeats.

    Any idea what is going on or how to fix it?

  2. #2
    Accept no substitutes. [AK]Bribo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    8,298
    What brand and model router are you using?

    Is there a port on the router specified for "uplink"? Is there a button for "uplink". Is Kidds PC connected to this uplink port?
    [AK]Bribo

    If you were a zombie and I had to kill you, I'd feel sad.

  3. #3
    August Knights [AK]Swae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,526
    The router is a Belkin N.

    No clue on your second question - I'll have to check tonight when I get home.

  4. #4
    Accept no substitutes. [AK]Bribo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    8,298
    This is a wireless router. Are you and Kidd both connected via wireless or hardwired to the back of the router?
    [AK]Bribo

    If you were a zombie and I had to kill you, I'd feel sad.

  5. #5
    August Knights [AK]Swae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,526
    Both of our desktops are hardwired in - we use the wireless for our laptops, but I don't use my laptop enough to know if it has the same problems as I have with my desktop.

  6. #6
    Accept no substitutes. [AK]Bribo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    8,298
    According to the manual a blinking amber Modem Status light indicates a problem with the modem (cable modem or DSL modem).

    You might want to try upgrading the firmware on your router if you have not done this yet. (page 57)

    Also, make sure that the ethernet cable from your cable modem is connected to the YELLOW port on the back of the router.

    http://cache-www.belkin.com/support/...01122_7-08.pdf
    [AK]Bribo

    If you were a zombie and I had to kill you, I'd feel sad.

  7. #7
    Accept no substitutes. [AK]Bribo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    8,298
    Also, try changing the physical port that your PC is connected to on the router.
    [AK]Bribo

    If you were a zombie and I had to kill you, I'd feel sad.

  8. #8
    Accept no substitutes. [AK]Bribo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    8,298
    It looks like there is no single port that is for uplinking:

    H. Connections to Wired Computers Gray (the grey colored ports)

    Connect your wired (non-wireless) computers to these ports. These
    ports are RJ45, 10/100 auto-negotiation, auto-uplinking ports for
    standard UTP category 5 or 6 Ethernet cable. The ports are labeled 1
    through 4.

    Try switching to another port on the router or try trading the ports that you and Kidd are using and see what happens.
    [AK]Bribo

    If you were a zombie and I had to kill you, I'd feel sad.

  9. #9
    Accept no substitutes. [AK]Bribo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    8,298
    So what did you find out? Any news on this? The tech engineer in me demands a solution.
    [AK]Bribo

    If you were a zombie and I had to kill you, I'd feel sad.

  10. #10
    August Knights [AK]Swae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,526
    Quote Originally Posted by [AK]Bribo View Post
    So what did you find out? Any news on this? The tech engineer in me demands a solution.
    Funny story, actually.

    I worked late last night, and when I got home, Kidd said that the modem had totally quit working, so he replaced it with an old backup. I may try setting up the new one again this weekend and following some of your suggestions. We bought it in November, so I doubt it's gone bad already.

  11. #11
    Accept no substitutes. [AK]Bribo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    8,298
    FWIW, I've never heard anything good about Belkin products. Personally, I use Netgear products which I've found to be rock solid. I'd try returning the faulty Belkin for a refund or store credit and get a different brand.
    [AK]Bribo

    If you were a zombie and I had to kill you, I'd feel sad.

  12. #12
    August Knights
    Undersecretary of War


    Long Live Reaganomics!
    [AK]Hylander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    5,496
    I can agree with Bribo. I've had nothing but problems with several Belkin products from USB hubs to KVM switches.

    I use both Netgear and Linksys routers and have never had a problem with either. I had a d-link router/wap that was flaky on me as well. I'd stick with Netgear or Linksys products for the home routing needs. YMMV
    "The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; the inherent virtue of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries." - Winston Churchill

    ---
    Hustedia.com | Husted Visuals | The Racing Historian


Similar Threads

  1. Questing woes
    By [AK]Rocks in forum Rocks PITA Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-19-2009, 09:38 PM
  2. Vista Woes
    By [AK]Swae in forum Operating Systems & Applications
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-14-2009, 12:18 PM
  3. Windows woes
    By [AK]Clay in forum Hardware & Performance Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-25-2007, 03:29 PM
  4. router
    By R23 in forum August Knights Round Table
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2001, 07:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •