Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Firewall/security stuff

Firewall/security stuff

While goofing around on Trillian (a multi-chat for the uninformed) I noticed that it displays IP's for people on ICQ. then I noticed that several AK'ers IP's are displayed as 0.0.0.0. Namely Pix and Palooka (at this time). What kind of security functions do you have to prevent such things from being displayed?

Im fairly new at this firewall/router stuff. I was lazy so I bought a nice Linksys router/firewall. and its exactly as easy to use as id hoped.
    "Luck Does Not Go About In Search Of A Fool"
    - Andy Hudson in Red Rabbit by Tom Clancy.

Pix shows to me as 0.0.0.0 but I see Pal's just fine.. as well as yours
    lol, <3

Retired EQ, WoW Player.

in trillian's preferences, go to the privacy screen (located in the icq category in the navigation menu to the left). at the bottom of the preferences, you can opt to show your ip address to everyone, users on your contact menu only (recommended), or allow no one to view your ip address (though truely that isn't possible).

hmm, thats interesting. I had some people i know with trillian (but arent on my list) to check for my ip, i had it set to show people on my list my ip. but they could see it anyways.

by not allowing anyone to see my ip, it says no direct connections allowed. will this disable my ability to send/recieve files?

Computer

the underlying operating system has to know what the ip of your IM partner is at all times. Unlike AIM, ICQ defaults to direct connection of clients to one another all the time. Since the only way to ensure the correct transmission of point to point communication, the OS has to know the final destination IP address for anything to work properly. It's actually quite easy to get around the [lame] security system of Trillian and ICQ clients by dropping to a DOS prompt and typing

netstat -a